“Can I Carry That For You?”

I’m a sinner.  I can’t do anything to save myself.  I’m weak and very prone to fall, over and over again.  I’m attracted to all kind of stuff that’s bad for me.  I’m lazy and self-centered.  I’m impatient and easily frustrated with other people. I procrastinate.  I fall time and time again.  I just can’t seem to get it right.  I try and try and I’m never able to be good.  Most days it’s all just too much for me to bear and too heavy a load for me to carry.
 
“Can I carry that for you?”
 
I worry about everything.  My family, my job, my health, the future. I imagine problems that don’t even exist.  Then I worry that some day they might exist.  It’s easy to find enough to worry about these days.  The economy.  Jobs.  Terrorism.  Crimes in our neighborhoods.  The next epidemic of something horrible and unseen.  Lots of times I lay awake at night and worry.
 
“Can I carry that for you?”
 
The world tells me to try harder, to do better, to work more,  The world says all I have to do is get up earlier, stay later and work weekends.  There are even some preachers who say that if you love God the “right” way He’ll give you lots of money and new cars and a big house.  They call it the “prosperity gospel.”  But I never knew Jesus to preach that kind of gospel.  The world says I have a god inside of me that I can find if I do yoga and meditate and imagine good things in my future.  It’s a lot to remember and a lot of work.
 
“Can I carry that for you?”
 
I’m thankful I don’t have to rely on myself, no matter how good my intentions might be.  I’m thankful that Christ wants to take away my every burden and worry, every one of my sins and failures.  I’m thankful He knows my weaknesses and loves me in spite of them.  He knows every one of my sins and still He loves me beyond measure.  He knows how frail my spirit can be and so He gave me His Church to be my support and guide.  He feeds me with His Body, Blood, Soul, and Divinity in the Holy Eucharist.  He forgives my sins in the Sacrament of Reconciliation.  He comes to me as the Good Shepherd longing to find me and bring me home to Himself.  Jesus loves me in spite of my unloveliness.  He cherishes me as His beloved daughter, no matter how often I stumble and fall.  All my burdens and worries are lifted in His love for me.  No matter what may come my way, He’s there at my side to help me through.  The world is full of lies and misinformation.  The world is about “self-help.”  Our Catholic faith is about “Jesus, help me.”  You can’t think or dream or wish or work yourself into a better version of who you are.  Only Christ can transform our contrite hearts into what He desires for us — eternal life with Him in heaven!
 
“In the world, you will have trouble.  But take courage, I have conquered the world.”  Matthew 16:32-33

Leave a Reply

