Prayers For Kathy 

  
I was in high school before I ever met a Catholic, at least that I knew. In those years, a Catholic family moved into our school district and the mom became our high school secretary. Three of their five daughters were close in age to me. Throughout those years I had been reading about and visiting a variety of Christian churches on my own faith search, trying to understand their beliefs and trying to find somewhere that I felt at home. A couple of my girlfriends and I attended a weekly evangelical Bible study which opened the Scriptures for me in a way I hadn’t known before. Still, the Bible study wasn’t a church and I wanted a church I could accept.  

I’d never visited a Catholic Church, but the more I read Scripture, the more I was interested in the history of the Bible and how it came to be written, compiled, and passed down to us. The more I read, the more I knew I had to learn about Catholicism. And one day, in my world history class, I had an opportunity to do that. We were studying European history and you can’t do that without studying the Catholic Church. In that class with me was one of “those new Catholic girls” named Kathy. Pretty and always smiling, she served as our Catholic expert and for several days she did a great job explaining the history and beliefs of her Catholic faith. I remember how she explained what a Rosary was and how the prayers for it came from the Gospels. She even brought in a small bottle of holy water, which our class full of Baptists and Methodists looked on as some rare and magical potion. Kathy was great and she answered our questions with grace.  

Fast forward a few years and I was enrolled in a Catholic university by then and I knew I was going to join the Church. I had never been baptized and my local priest led me in personal instruction to prepare me for the Sacraments. As the time for them came nearer, I realized I had a problem: I needed a Catholic godparent. So I called our high school secretary and she gladly agreed to serve in that role. She and Kathy came to my Baptism and Confirmation. I was so happy that the two of them were there that day to share my joy.  

Kathy and her family became a treasured memory of my journey to the Catholic faith, even though we lost touch over the years. Through Facebook, I knew that Kathy had married and had a family and that one of her daughters had entered religious life. The joy on their faces in the photos Kathy posted was obvious. Now here’s where you, my wonderful readers, come in. Kathy was in a very serious car accident last week. She’s been in ICU in a great deal of pain since then. She’s already undergone several surgeries and there will be more. Her sisters have kept us updated on her status, which is a blessing for everyone who knows and loves Kathy and her extended family. I’d like to ask each of you to pray for Kathy’s healing. Please ask the Great Physician to relieve her horrible pain and to allow her to get the rest she so desperately needs. I know that every family has someone who may be hurting right now, but please spare a few moments to include my friend Kathy in your prayers. I know without a doubt that she’d do the same for you. And I thank you for your charity.  

A Prayer For Kathy 

Lord, look upon my friend with eyes of mercy. May your healing hand rest upon her, soothing her pain and curing her injuries from her car accident. May your life-giving powers flow into every cell of her body and into the depths of her soul, cleansing, purifying, restoring her to wholeness and strength for service in your Kingdom. Through Christ Our Lord, Amen.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. SR
    Oct 02, 2016 @ 22:36:08

    Will surely be praying for your beloved friend. God Bless, SR

    Reply

  2. Robert De Luna
    Oct 03, 2016 @ 02:20:12

    Such a beautiful story. I dedicated a rosary for her healing. May the Lord Jesus cast his Most Holy Precious Blood upon her health.

    Robert

    Reply

    • tiberjudy
      Oct 03, 2016 @ 05:19:24

      Thank you so much for your prayers and thoughtfulness. Kathy is a devout believer and all our prayers are needed at this time. May our Lord bless and keep you and yours.

      Reply

  3. Susan
    Oct 04, 2016 @ 20:34:44

    I’m her cousin and this is beautifully written about her. You know her well! Thank you.

    Reply

  4. SR
    Oct 06, 2016 @ 21:29:06

    How is she doing Judy? God Bless, SR

    Reply

Leave a Reply

